Enter the Mini-ITX.com online store

Reviews

January 26, 2003
Chyang Fun E-Note

January 4, 2003
Lian Li PC-402A

November 4, 2002
Netbox Cubit

October 24, 2002
EPIA-M Preview

October 12, 2002
Jetway B860T

October 9, 2002
RealMagic XCard

October 3, 2002
Morex Cubid 2688R

August 17, 2002
Morex Cubid 2677R

August 9, 2002
G-Alantic 610i


Morex Cubid 2677R Review
Posted on August 17, 2002

Mounting the case sideways


The case comes with 2 adjustable plastic legs to mount the case sideways. If they can be fixed securely, we couldn't work out how. So they drop off when you pick the case up. Oh well.


Here's the case mounted sideways.


And here's the case standing more traditionally (again)

Conclusion

Morex have produced a solid, quiet and very small case that wouldn't look out of place next to a TV or Video Recorder. In fact our review machine has been sitting on top of the Mini-ITX satellite receiver for a week now, and we see no reason to move it. The case went together very easily, and is well designed. We liked the sideways mounting feature. The 30mm DIMM restriction could prove a problem for anyone thinking of recycling existing memory. Equally, anyone thinking of reusing a 5.25" CD or DVD drive will have to think again as this case will only accept the more expensive slimline drives. The external PSU is a stroke of genius, as it allows the case to be virtually silent - and the twin fans inside the case could probably be disabled with no ill effect. We managed to scratch the top of our review case during assembly, though we also managed to scratch our G-Alantic so perhaps this is a symptom of painted steel cases rather than this particular model. Be careful when moving it around, and your case will be fine.

Many thanks to Morex and VIA for kindly providing the case and to Helix Technology for providing the slimline DVD/CDRW drive for this review.

Helix Technology contact: Ms. Asling Lin: asling@mail.helix.com.tw

*Advert break* this case, and the Cubid 2688R, is available from the Mini-ITX Online store *Advert Break Ends*

Over 30 pictures of this case in the Cubid 2677R Gallery -->

You may also want to look at the Cubid 2688R Review -->

<-- Back to Mini-ITX.com


Board Finder
Case Finder
Mini PC Finder
Quick Links
Mini-ITX Online Store

Mailing Lists:
Mini-ITX Store

Mini-ITX 101
Mini-ITX History
Advertising

Projects:

Show Random
How to submit
your project

Most Viewed Today

PSU PC

XBMC-ION

Mini-Cluster

ITX-Laptop

Windows XP Box

Accordion-ITX
Aircraft Carrier
Ambulator 1
AMD Case
Ammo Box
Ammo Tux
AmmoLAN
amPC
Animal SNES
Atari 800 ITX
Attache Server
Aunt Hagar's Mini-ITX
Bantam PC
BBC ITX B
Bender PC
Biscuit Tin PC
Blue Plate
BlueBox
BMW PC
Borg Appliance
Briefcase PC
Bubbacomp
C1541 Disk Drive
C64 @ 933MHz
CardboardCube
CAUV 2008
CBM ITX-64
Coelacanth-PC
Cool Cube
Deco Box
Devilcat
DOS Head Unit
Dreamcast PC
E.T.PC
Eden VAX
EdenStation IPX
Encyclomedia
Falcon-ITX
Florian
Frame
FS-RouterSwitch
G4 Cube PC
GasCan PC
Gingerbread
Gramaphone-ITX-HD
GTA-PC
Guitar PC
Guitar Workstation
Gumball PC
Hirschmann
HTPC
HTPC2
Humidor 64
Humidor CL
Humidor II
Humidor M
Humidor PC
Humidor V
I.C.E. Unit
i64XBOX
i-EPIA
iGrill
ITX Helmet
ITX TV
ITX-Laptop
Jeannie
Jukebox ITX
KiSA 444
K'nex ITX
Leela PC
Lego 0933 PC
Legobox
Log Cabin PC
Lunchbox PC
Mac-ITX
Manga Doll
Mantle Radio
Mediabox
Mega-ITX
Micro TV
Mini Falcon
Mini Mesh Box
Mini-Cluster
Mobile-BlackBox
Moo Cow Moo
Mr OMNI
NAS4Free
NESPC
OpenELEC
Osh Kosh
Pet ITX
Pictureframe PC
Playstation 2 PC
Playstation PC
Project NFF
PSU PC
Quiet Cubid
R2D2PC
Racing The Light
RadioSphere
Restomod TV
Robotica 2003
Rundfunker
SaturnPC
S-CUBE
SEGA-ITX
SpaceCase
SpacePanel
Spartan Bluebird
Spider Case
Supra-Server
Teddybear
Telefunken 2003
TERA-ITX
The Clock
ToAsTOr
Tortoise Beetle
Tux Server
Underwood No.5
Waffle Iron PC
Windows XP Box
Wraith SE/30
XBMC-ION

How to submit
your project

Reviews:
CF-S688 E-Note
Cubid 2677R
Cubid 2688R
Cubid 3688
GAlantic GA610i
Hush Mini-ITX
Lian Li PC-402A
Jetway B860T
VIA M 10000
VIA MII 12000
VIA Nano-ITX
VIA Pico-ITX
Sigma XCard
Travla C137

Guides & Tips:
5.1 EPIA Audio
Cubid Tips
EPIA CL Firewall
EPIA COM IR
EPIA SCART
Extra USB Ports
IPCop Gateway
Overclocking
PowerLCD

Drivers:
EPIA  EPIA V
EPIA M  EPIA MII
EPIA CL  EPIA PD
EPIA TC
.

Mini-ITX Online Store

Contact Us

Store: +44 (0) 845 475 8 475

Store enquiries: store@mini-itx.com

Other enquiries: feedback@mini-itx.com

Visit the Store

Click here to enter the online store

Social

Follow us on Twitter!

Join our Mailing List

Copyright: All content on this site is Copyright © 2002-2017 Mini-ITX.com and respective owners, all rights reserved.