Enter the Mini-ITX.com online store

Reviews

January 26, 2003
Chyang Fun E-Note

January 4, 2003
Lian Li PC-402A

November 4, 2002
Netbox Cubit

October 24, 2002
EPIA-M Preview

October 12, 2002
Jetway B860T

October 9, 2002
RealMagic XCard

October 3, 2002
Morex Cubid 2688R

August 17, 2002
Morex Cubid 2677R

August 9, 2002
G-Alantic 610i


RealMagic XCard Review
Posted on October 9, 2002

Hardware Installation


Hardware installation was a doddle. It's only a PCI card, and there's only one slot. We plugged the remote control receiver into the serial port, and then inserted the supplied batteries into the remote. Here's a picture of the card inside our test MiniCube case.


And here's the card inside our Cubid case. Aaah - how long we've been waiting for this moment...

Software Installation

Software installation wasn't so smooth. On a clean Windows XP system, we first installed the drivers, then the player software. Or at least we tried to - the installer wouldn't run. We uninstalled and tried the latest versions from the website several times, and after 15 minutes of messing about finally got it to install. Perhaps we're just incompetent, but things should install smoother than this.

Connecting the XCard to a TV

The XCard produces a full screen video image from an MPEG1, MPEG2 or MPEG4 source, and outputs it to its TV-Out and VGA Out sockets. If the VGA pass-through cable is connected (i.e. Graphics card VGA Out --> XCard VGA In), it will add the full screen video on top of that during playback.

What this means in practice using the EPIA is that if you want to use this card with a TV, and still see Windows, you're going to have to either:

a) Use a TV with a VGA input
b) Use 2 inputs on the TV (both can be either S-Video or Composite, or indeed SCART), and switch between them
c) Use 1 input on the TV, and switch between them manually, or with a switching box (SCART for instance)

We chose b). We found a composite video to SCART lead and used that for the EPIA output, and used the S-Video output direct into the TV for the XCard output. Connection methods will of course vary depending on what your TV can handle. We could have hooked up the XCard S/PDIF audio output to an external amp for Dolby Digital surround sound - but we don't have one. Shame. If we were using a VGA monitor, we wouldn't need to switch inputs, as the video image is added to the original VGA output.

The Remote and Software


The supplied remote control can control most aspects of the bundled XMedia application, complete with an On-Screen Display for basic things such as volume, video title, brightness etc. What it can't do is add anything to the playlist - so anyone thinking of replacing their mouse and keyboard and use XMedia as a HTPC front end app might want to think about how they load their playlists. Perhaps Sigma will add a full on-screen menu with playlist control in future software releases.

Here's a picture of XMedia, the bundled playback software. If those buttons look a little confusing and badly drawn - they are. But the application is skinnable, and once Sigma release the SDK we should hopefully see a few WinAmp style skins on the interweb.

But the look of it doesn't really matter - the XCard only supports full screen video output - so by using the remote control and OSD you won't need to look at it, except to add items from your hard disk onto the playlist. This is XMedia in expanded mode, with an empty playlist on the left.



Board Finder
Case Finder
Mini PC Finder
Quick Links
Mini-ITX Online Store

Mailing Lists:
Mini-ITX Store

Mini-ITX 101
Mini-ITX History
Advertising

Projects:

Show Random
How to submit
your project

Most Viewed Today

XBMC-ION

NAS4Free

ITX-Laptop

Underwood No.5

Mini-Cluster

Accordion-ITX
Aircraft Carrier
Ambulator 1
AMD Case
Ammo Box
Ammo Tux
AmmoLAN
amPC
Animal SNES
Atari 800 ITX
Attache Server
Aunt Hagar's Mini-ITX
Bantam PC
BBC ITX B
Bender PC
Biscuit Tin PC
Blue Plate
BlueBox
BMW PC
Borg Appliance
Briefcase PC
Bubbacomp
C1541 Disk Drive
C64 @ 933MHz
CardboardCube
CAUV 2008
CBM ITX-64
Coelacanth-PC
Cool Cube
Deco Box
Devilcat
DOS Head Unit
Dreamcast PC
E.T.PC
Eden VAX
EdenStation IPX
Encyclomedia
Falcon-ITX
Florian
Frame
FS-RouterSwitch
G4 Cube PC
GasCan PC
Gingerbread
Gramaphone-ITX-HD
GTA-PC
Guitar PC
Guitar Workstation
Gumball PC
Hirschmann
HTPC
HTPC2
Humidor 64
Humidor CL
Humidor II
Humidor M
Humidor PC
Humidor V
I.C.E. Unit
i64XBOX
i-EPIA
iGrill
ITX Helmet
ITX TV
ITX-Laptop
Jeannie
Jukebox ITX
KiSA 444
K'nex ITX
Leela PC
Lego 0933 PC
Legobox
Log Cabin PC
Lunchbox PC
Mac-ITX
Manga Doll
Mantle Radio
Mediabox
Mega-ITX
Micro TV
Mini Falcon
Mini Mesh Box
Mini-Cluster
Mobile-BlackBox
Moo Cow Moo
Mr OMNI
NAS4Free
NESPC
OpenELEC
Osh Kosh
Pet ITX
Pictureframe PC
Playstation 2 PC
Playstation PC
Project NFF
PSU PC
Quiet Cubid
R2D2PC
Racing The Light
RadioSphere
Restomod TV
Robotica 2003
Rundfunker
SaturnPC
S-CUBE
SEGA-ITX
SpaceCase
SpacePanel
Spartan Bluebird
Spider Case
Supra-Server
Teddybear
Telefunken 2003
TERA-ITX
The Clock
ToAsTOr
Tortoise Beetle
Tux Server
Underwood No.5
Waffle Iron PC
Windows XP Box
Wraith SE/30
XBMC-ION

How to submit
your project

Reviews:
CF-S688 E-Note
Cubid 2677R
Cubid 2688R
Cubid 3688
GAlantic GA610i
Hush Mini-ITX
Lian Li PC-402A
Jetway B860T
VIA M 10000
VIA MII 12000
VIA Nano-ITX
VIA Pico-ITX
Sigma XCard
Travla C137

Guides & Tips:
5.1 EPIA Audio
Cubid Tips
EPIA CL Firewall
EPIA COM IR
EPIA SCART
Extra USB Ports
IPCop Gateway
Overclocking
PowerLCD

Drivers:
EPIA  EPIA V
EPIA M  EPIA MII
EPIA CL  EPIA PD
EPIA TC
.

Mini-ITX Online Store

Contact Us

Store: +44 (0) 845 475 8 475

Store enquiries: store@mini-itx.com

Other enquiries: feedback@mini-itx.com

Visit the Store

Click here to enter the online store

Social

Follow us on Twitter!

Join our Mailing List

Copyright: All content on this site is Copyright © 2002-2017 Mini-ITX.com and respective owners, all rights reserved.