Enter the Mini-ITX.com online store

Project Browser

September 05, 2017
Choosing the right DC-DC PSU

August 27, 2015
AMD's Project Quantum

August 13, 2015
The Redstone PC is the ultimate Mini-ITX Minecraft Machine

October 09, 2014
The "Restomod TV"

April 09, 2013
Installing NAS4Free

February 28, 2013
Building an XBMC 12 Home Theatre PC

January 25, 2011
XBMC Guide updated to version 10.0

August 06, 2010
Building a Green PC

February 15, 2010
Building an ION powered HTPC with XBMC

October 10, 2008
The "Cambridge Autonomous Underwater Vehicle 2008"

Mini-ITX Online Store

September 12, 2008
"Florian", the DVD burning robot

September 05, 2008
The "i-EPIA"

May 22, 2008
The "GTA-PC"

April 14, 2007
The "Digg" Case

January 19, 2007
The "ITX-Laptop"

December 07, 2006
The "Tortoise Beetle"

October 02, 2006
The "DOS Head Unit"

August 31, 2006
The "Janus Project"

August 05, 2006
The "Leela PC"

June 26, 2006
Nano-ITX in a Football

May 17, 2006
The "EPIA Alloy Mod"

April 11, 2006
Neatorama's Collection of Case Mods

February 18, 2006
The "Rundfunker"

October 24, 2005
The "ITX TV"

October 06, 2005
The K'nex-ITX

August 05, 2005
The "Waffle Iron PC"

July 21, 2005
The "Supra-Server"

July 18, 2005
The "Mega-ITX"

July 07, 2005
The "Encyclomedia"

May 25, 2005
The "Accordion ITX"

Mini-ITX Online Store

May 16, 2005
The "FileServerRouterSwitch"

May 15, 2005
The "Mini Falcon"

May 13, 2005
The "Bender PC"

May 11, 2005
The "BBC ITX B"

May 10, 2005
The "Frame"

April 20, 2005
The "Jeannie"

March 09, 2005
The "Cool Cube"

January 30, 2005
First Nano-ITX Project?

January 17, 2005
The "iGrill"

January 15, 2005
The "Gumball PC"

December 15, 2004
The "Deco Box"

December 03, 2004
The "TERA-ITX"

October 06, 2004
The "Coealacanth-PC"

September 17, 2004
The "Gramaphone-ITX-HD"

August 26, 2004
The "C1541 Disk Drive ITX"

August 25, 2004
The "SEGA-ITX"

August 13, 2004
The "Quiet Cubid"

August 06, 2004
The "BMWPC"

July 14, 2004
The "Moo Cow Moo"

July 02, 2004
The "Mini Mesh Box"

Full alphabetical archive on right hand side of page...


Scythe e-Otonashi Review
By Larry Matter, Posted on July 9, 2004 Jump to:

Assembly

After having looked over the case thoroughly, it was time to assemble everything.  The instructions included are a little sparse, but they do seem to include all the steps.

To prepare for assembly, remove the Heatlane heatpipe from the case by removing the four screws securing the two brackets and set all parts aside.  Now we'll move on to the Via EPIA M motherboard.

The first step is to remove the heatsink and fan combo from your EPIA M.  This is a delicate, sometimes frustrating task. You need to be very careful not only of static electricity but also of physically damaging the board. Needless to say, if you choose to do this to your board, you do so at your own risk. Remove the fan from the CPU Heatsink by removing the two black screws. Then, uncerimoniously toss the fan into the garbage.

Now turn the board over and find the ends of the plastic pins that hold the CPU heatsink down. You need to compress the ends of those pins so that they can be pushed back up through the motherboard. Here I am trying to compress the pin ends.

Note that in this picture I'm actually trying to compress the wrong pin (but couldn't be bothered to retake the picture). The CPU heatsink pins are more toward the edge of the board. So be careful and make sure you are squeezing the correct ones. You also need to be careful that any tools you use do not scratch the surface of the motherboard and that any stress you apply not bend the board.

Click to launch image viewer

Once I got the (correct) pins back through the motherboard, I had to pop the CPU heatsink off of the CPU. It was actually rather attached so I had to apply a little persuasion with a flat-blade screwdriver. I did this very carefully, and I'm sure I'll get email about how risky it is to use such a tool. Just be extra extra careful at this step. Here is the motherboard with the CPU heatsink removed. Notice all the thermal compound still stuck to the CPU.

Click to launch image viewer

In order to remove the existing compound from the CPU I used a sharp hobby knife, as shown below. That worked for most of it and then some good old fashioned elbow grease to get the rest off. Remember to pay attention to the warnings above so as not to damage any components.

Click to launch image viewer

Then I applied some of the new compound supplied with the case to the CPU and smeared it around. Rather than use a high-performance thermal compound, I wanted to use the compound that was supplied with the case. I thought this would give a more acurate view of what most customers will experience. Note that I am not an overclocker or any kind of heatsink expert. So take my advice about the compound accordingly. Once the compound is applied to the CPU, it is time to put on the Heatlane heatpipe.

Click to launch image viewer

Slide the folded part of the heat pipe over the CPU. Don't worry about the heatpipe coming into contact with the bottom of the motherboard. Once everything is installed correctly it will be pulled away from the motherboard on to the e-Otonashi case.

Click to launch image viewer

Next comes the tricky part. You need to install the original CPU heatsink on top of the heatpipe and secure it the motherboard with parts supplied with the case.

Click to launch image viewer

Use these long screws, washers, and long nuts to secure the old CPU heatsink to the top of the heatpipe (over the CPU). It may actually be easier to push the screws with their washers through the bottom of the motherboard before sliding the heatpipe over the CPU. Then secure the heatsink with the long nuts. Holding the heatsink on top of the heatpipe with one hand, and holding one of the screws with the other hand, simply tighten the long nut with your third hand. You get the idea.

It's actually not too difficult, just requires a little concentration.

Before installing the motherboard assembly into the e-Otonashi case, I smeared the remaining thermal compound on to the bottom of the case where it was to contact the heatpipe. This was not indicated in the instructions but it seemed like a good idea.

Click to launch image viewer

Next, insert the EPIA M back panel plate into the back of the case and then place the motherboard into the case. Secure it with the four small brass colored screws provided. Lastly, secure the heatpipe back onto the case with the screws and brackets you removed earlier. The complete assembly should look something like this:

Click to launch image viewer

Last steps for assembly are to connect all the wires to the motherboard. Unfortunately, none of the wires are labelled so you have to deduce which ones are what and consult your motherboard manual for the front panel connector layout. There are two pairs of wires on the left (when looking at the above picture). One pair is green and black and the other is white and black. On my system, the green was the power switch and the white was the reset switch.

There are also two pairs of wires on the right. A green and black pair (which should be the power LED) and a red and black pair (which should be the IDE activity LED). Lastly you need to connect the power cable from the power supply and you are all set (for diskless operation anyway, which is what I am interested in).

Another point I would like to make at this time is that unlike the earlier Morex 55W PSU (now increased to 60W), this one appears to have plenty of "umph" to power the Via EPIA M on-board LAN. Thus I didn't have to do any hardware tweaking to ensure reliable booting, which was nice.

Once all the wires have been connected you can close up the box. Here are some pictures of the assembled unit.

Click to launch image viewer

Since I run the system diskless and typically hook it up to a TV, I need only minimal connections to test it; power, network, sound and video is all it takes to get this system up and running using MiniMyth.

Click to launch image viewer

Next: Performance -->


Board Finder
Case Finder
Mini PC Finder
Quick Links
Mini-ITX Online Store

Mailing Lists:
Mini-ITX Store

Mini-ITX 101
Mini-ITX History
Advertising

Projects:

Show Random
How to submit
your project

Most Viewed Today

XBMC-ION

Mini-Cluster

Bender PC

Underwood No.5

Windows XP Box

Accordion-ITX
Aircraft Carrier
Ambulator 1
AMD Case
Ammo Box
Ammo Tux
AmmoLAN
amPC
Animal SNES
Atari 800 ITX
Attache Server
Aunt Hagar's Mini-ITX
Bantam PC
BBC ITX B
Bender PC
Biscuit Tin PC
Blue Plate
BlueBox
BMW PC
Borg Appliance
Briefcase PC
Bubbacomp
C1541 Disk Drive
C64 @ 933MHz
CardboardCube
CAUV 2008
CBM ITX-64
Coelacanth-PC
Cool Cube
Deco Box
Devilcat
DOS Head Unit
Dreamcast PC
E.T.PC
Eden VAX
EdenStation IPX
Encyclomedia
Falcon-ITX
Florian
Frame
FS-RouterSwitch
G4 Cube PC
GasCan PC
Gingerbread
Gramaphone-ITX-HD
GTA-PC
Guitar PC
Guitar Workstation
Gumball PC
Hirschmann
HTPC
HTPC2
Humidor 64
Humidor CL
Humidor II
Humidor M
Humidor PC
Humidor V
I.C.E. Unit
i64XBOX
i-EPIA
iGrill
ITX Helmet
ITX TV
ITX-Laptop
Jeannie
Jukebox ITX
KiSA 444
K'nex ITX
Leela PC
Lego 0933 PC
Legobox
Log Cabin PC
Lunchbox PC
Mac-ITX
Manga Doll
Mantle Radio
Mediabox
Mega-ITX
Micro TV
Mini Falcon
Mini Mesh Box
Mini-Cluster
Mobile-BlackBox
Moo Cow Moo
Mr OMNI
NAS4Free
NESPC
OpenELEC
Osh Kosh
Pet ITX
Pictureframe PC
Playstation 2 PC
Playstation PC
Project NFF
PSU PC
Quiet Cubid
R2D2PC
Racing The Light
RadioSphere
Restomod TV
Robotica 2003
Rundfunker
SaturnPC
S-CUBE
SEGA-ITX
SpaceCase
SpacePanel
Spartan Bluebird
Spider Case
Supra-Server
Teddybear
Telefunken 2003
TERA-ITX
The Clock
ToAsTOr
Tortoise Beetle
Tux Server
Underwood No.5
Waffle Iron PC
Windows XP Box
Wraith SE/30
XBMC-ION

How to submit
your project

Reviews:
CF-S688 E-Note
Cubid 2677R
Cubid 2688R
Cubid 3688
GAlantic GA610i
Hush Mini-ITX
Lian Li PC-402A
Jetway B860T
VIA M 10000
VIA MII 12000
VIA Nano-ITX
VIA Pico-ITX
Sigma XCard
Travla C137

Guides & Tips:
5.1 EPIA Audio
Cubid Tips
EPIA CL Firewall
EPIA COM IR
EPIA SCART
Extra USB Ports
IPCop Gateway
Overclocking
PowerLCD

Drivers:
EPIA  EPIA V
EPIA M  EPIA MII
EPIA CL  EPIA PD
EPIA TC
.

Mini-ITX Online Store

Contact Us

Store: +44 (0) 845 475 8 475

Store enquiries: store@mini-itx.com

Other enquiries: feedback@mini-itx.com

Visit the Store

Click here to enter the online store

Social

Follow us on Twitter!

Join our Mailing List

Copyright: All content on this site is Copyright © 2002-2018 Mini-ITX.com and respective owners, all rights reserved.