Enter the Mini-ITX.com online store

Reviews

January 26, 2003
Chyang Fun E-Note

January 4, 2003
Lian Li PC-402A

November 4, 2002
Netbox Cubit

October 24, 2002
EPIA-M Preview

October 12, 2002
Jetway B860T

October 9, 2002
RealMagic XCard

October 3, 2002
Morex Cubid 2688R

August 17, 2002
Morex Cubid 2677R

August 9, 2002
G-Alantic 610i


Chyang Fun E-Note Review II -
Silencing the E-Note
By Bo Christensen, Posted on January 28-30, 2003

4. Cooling a 933Mhz CPU with a Hedgehog

The next move wass not a very sane one.. but I had the items in stock, and wanted to use my Dremel for something :)


The fan on the processor was the main source of noise now, so I removed the cooling system from the processor. And had the idea that if the heatsink was big enough it would not need a fan.


So I took my dremel and cut a Kanie Hedgehog heatsink down to size. The Hedgehog is a massive heatsink used for Pentium III systems and is made entirely of copper (which is very expensive, and therefore very stupid to begin messing around with).


After cutting it down to size (60mm x 40mm) I made a latch system that would secure it to the processor and mounted the heatsink with Arctic Silver 3 compound.


This was my attempt to cool the C3 without a fan.


After running the system for 1 hour I concluded that the heatsink could not cool the processor by itself, and was forced to mount a fan. The fan I used was a 60mm Ultra Low Noise Papst Fan (612F). This comes complete with a 5V adaptor and is very quiet.

After mounting this fan, the most noise came from the power supply fan and the hard dive (mine has fluid bearings). But this was at a much more acceptable level.


After making these modifications I would suggest that the case is used as a minitower cabinet with the power supply at the top. This allows a good airflow of cool air sucking in through the hole from the paddleboat wheel, flowing upwards into the power supply and out of the case again.

5. The Burn-In Test

My burn-in test involved playing a DVD movie on repeat for 24 hours! In these 24 hours the temperature of the processor never got above 45 degrees, which I found satisfactory. For the next 48 hours the computer ran various programs, to stress the CPU and harddrive, and this test was also completed successfully.

These tests were run at a room temperature of 20 - 25 degrees or more.

6. Conclusion

These are my conclusions:

- It's very difficult to run the C3 933Mhz without an active cooling system.
- When used as a minitower case, the power supply fan running at 5V is
strong enough to cool the system.
- The blue LED is way to bright for use as a power LED!
- The case looks awesome with the yellow and blue LED's exchanged.

Bo Christensen

<-- Back to Mini-ITX.com


Board Finder
Case Finder
Mini PC Finder
Quick Links
Mini-ITX Online Store

Mailing Lists:
Mini-ITX Store

Mini-ITX 101
Mini-ITX History
Advertising

Projects:

Show Random
How to submit
your project

Most Viewed Today

XBMC-ION

ITX-Laptop

Mini-Cluster

NAS4Free

Ammo Box

Accordion-ITX
Aircraft Carrier
Ambulator 1
AMD Case
Ammo Box
Ammo Tux
AmmoLAN
amPC
Animal SNES
Atari 800 ITX
Attache Server
Aunt Hagar's Mini-ITX
Bantam PC
BBC ITX B
Bender PC
Biscuit Tin PC
Blue Plate
BlueBox
BMW PC
Borg Appliance
Briefcase PC
Bubbacomp
C1541 Disk Drive
C64 @ 933MHz
CardboardCube
CAUV 2008
CBM ITX-64
Coelacanth-PC
Cool Cube
Deco Box
Devilcat
DOS Head Unit
Dreamcast PC
E.T.PC
Eden VAX
EdenStation IPX
Encyclomedia
Falcon-ITX
Florian
Frame
FS-RouterSwitch
G4 Cube PC
GasCan PC
Gingerbread
Gramaphone-ITX-HD
GTA-PC
Guitar PC
Guitar Workstation
Gumball PC
Hirschmann
HTPC
HTPC2
Humidor 64
Humidor CL
Humidor II
Humidor M
Humidor PC
Humidor V
I.C.E. Unit
i64XBOX
i-EPIA
iGrill
ITX Helmet
ITX TV
ITX-Laptop
Jeannie
Jukebox ITX
KiSA 444
K'nex ITX
Leela PC
Lego 0933 PC
Legobox
Log Cabin PC
Lunchbox PC
Mac-ITX
Manga Doll
Mantle Radio
Mediabox
Mega-ITX
Micro TV
Mini Falcon
Mini Mesh Box
Mini-Cluster
Mobile-BlackBox
Moo Cow Moo
Mr OMNI
NAS4Free
NESPC
OpenELEC
Osh Kosh
Pet ITX
Pictureframe PC
Playstation 2 PC
Playstation PC
Project NFF
PSU PC
Quiet Cubid
R2D2PC
Racing The Light
RadioSphere
Restomod TV
Robotica 2003
Rundfunker
SaturnPC
S-CUBE
SEGA-ITX
SpaceCase
SpacePanel
Spartan Bluebird
Spider Case
Supra-Server
Teddybear
Telefunken 2003
TERA-ITX
The Clock
ToAsTOr
Tortoise Beetle
Tux Server
Underwood No.5
Waffle Iron PC
Windows XP Box
Wraith SE/30
XBMC-ION

How to submit
your project

Reviews:
CF-S688 E-Note
Cubid 2677R
Cubid 2688R
Cubid 3688
GAlantic GA610i
Hush Mini-ITX
Lian Li PC-402A
Jetway B860T
VIA M 10000
VIA MII 12000
VIA Nano-ITX
VIA Pico-ITX
Sigma XCard
Travla C137

Guides & Tips:
5.1 EPIA Audio
Cubid Tips
EPIA CL Firewall
EPIA COM IR
EPIA SCART
Extra USB Ports
IPCop Gateway
Overclocking
PowerLCD

Drivers:
EPIA  EPIA V
EPIA M  EPIA MII
EPIA CL  EPIA PD
EPIA TC
.

Mini-ITX Online Store

Contact Us

Store: +44 (0) 845 475 8 475

Store enquiries: store@mini-itx.com

Other enquiries: feedback@mini-itx.com

Visit the Store

Click here to enter the online store

Social

Follow us on Twitter!

Join our Mailing List

Copyright: All content on this site is Copyright © 2002-2017 Mini-ITX.com and respective owners, all rights reserved.