Enter the Mini-ITX.com online store

Reviews

January 26, 2003
Chyang Fun E-Note

January 4, 2003
Lian Li PC-402A

November 4, 2002
Netbox Cubit

October 24, 2002
EPIA-M Preview

October 12, 2002
Jetway B860T

October 9, 2002
RealMagic XCard

October 3, 2002
Morex Cubid 2688R

August 17, 2002
Morex Cubid 2677R

August 9, 2002
G-Alantic 610i


Chyang Fun E-Note Review II -
Silencing the E-Note
By Bo Christensen, Posted on January 28-30, 2003

Introduction


The Chyang Fun E-Note is a flawed beauty - a splendid case, compatible with the EPIA Ms but with a noisy PSU fan designed to run a Pentium 4, far too powerful for the task. Using standard case modding techniques, Bo Christensen modified his E-Note to run at the volume we would expect, and sent us his findings - think "sleeping kittens"...

Disclaimer: Some of these modifications (OK, maybe not the LED one) will invalidate your warranty. Ensure you know what you're doing first!

For many, many more ideas about silencing your PC, check out our friends over at silentpcreview.com

Silencing a Chyang Fun E-Note

Here is a description to the modifications I made to my CF-S688W E-Note case and EPIA M 9000, to make it run quieter.

1. Swapping the LEDs

I assembled the system and booted it up, just to check that all the components were running perfectly.

After looking at the case while installing the operating system, I almost went blind looking at that blue LED for power :)


So my first modification was to exchange the two LED's for power and harddrive.. after this, the case looks much better with the dim yellow light constantly on, and the occasionally blue flash of lightning when the harddrive operates. It looks awesome because the blue LED will flash in different intensities depending on the traffic to and from the harddrive.

2. Removing the Cross-Flow Fan

Next, I removed the Mississippi steamboat paddle fan assembly (looks cool
but not very effective, and I would rather suck air in trough the hole in
where it was mounted).

3. Converting the PSU Fan to +5V Operation

The next problem was the extreme noise level from the 12V fan in the power supply and the fan on the processor.


First thing I did was to disassemble the power supply and unsoldered the two wires from the power supply fan. These wires were then routed out of the power supply, and equipped with the same type of pins used in the power connector for the harddrive and CDROM (a Molex connector)


In the power connector for a harddrive you have 4 wires... these wires carry +12V, ground and +5V. This means you have 3 voltage levels usable for powering a fan in such connector:

+12V (yellow and black wire)
+7V (yellow and red wire)
+5V (red and black wire)


I tried all 3 levels and found that +5V was suitable for the fan in the power supply. Because the power supply is engineered to run an Intel P4 processor, and a C3 shouldn't drain that much power from it.. I concluded it would be safe.



Quick Links
Mini-ITX Online Store

Mailing Lists:
Mini-ITX Store

Mini-ITX 101
Mini-ITX History
Advertising

Projects:

Show Random
How to submit
your project

Most Viewed Today

XBMC-ION

OpenELEC

NAS4Free

Windows XP Box

Mini-Cluster

Accordion-ITX
Aircraft Carrier
Ambulator 1
AMD Case
Ammo Box
Ammo Tux
AmmoLAN
amPC
Animal SNES
Atari 800 ITX
Attache Server
Aunt Hagar's MI
Bantam PC
BBC ITX B
Bender PC
Biscuit Tin PC
Blue Plate
BlueBox
BMW PC
Borg Appliance
Briefcase PC
Bubbacomp
C1541 Disk Drive
C64 @ 933MHz
CardboardCube
CAUV 2008
CBM ITX-64
Coelacanth-PC
Cool Cube
Deco Box
Devilcat
DOS Head Unit
Dreamcast PC
E.T.PC
Eden VAX
EdenStation IPX
Encyclomedia
Falcon-ITX
Florian
Frame
FS-RouterSwitch
G4 Cube PC
GasCan PC
Gingerbread
Gramaphone-ITX-HD
GTA-PC
Guitar PC
Guitar W/S
Gumball PC
Hirschmann
HTPC
HTPC2
Humidor 64
Humidor CL
Humidor II
Humidor M
Humidor PC
Humidor V
I.C.E. Unit
i64XBOX
i-EPIA
iGrill
ITX Helmet
ITX TV
ITX-Laptop
Jeannie
Jukebox ITX
KiSA 444
K'nex ITX
Leela PC
Lego 0933 PC
Legobox
Log Cabin PC
Lunchbox PC
Mac-ITX
Manga Doll
Mantle Radio
Mediabox
Mega-ITX
Micro TV
Mini Falcon
Mini Mesh Box
Mini-Cluster
Mobile-BlackBox
Moo Cow Moo
Mr OMNI
NAS4Free
NESPC
OpenELEC
Osh Kosh
Pet ITX
Pictureframe PC
Playstation 2 PC
Playstation PC
Project NFF
PSU PC
Quiet Cubid
R2D2PC
Racing The Light
RadioSphere
Robotica 2003
Rundfunker
SaturnPC
S-CUBE
SEGA-ITX
SpaceCase
SpacePanel
Spartan Bluebird
Spide Case
Supra-Server
Teddybear
Telefunken 2003
TERA-ITX
The Clock
ToAsTOr
Tortoise Beetle
Tux Server
Underwood No.5
Waffle Iron PC
Windows XP Box
Wraith SE/30
XBMC-ION

How to submit
your project

Reviews:
CF-S688 E-Note
Cubid 2677R
Cubid 2688R
Cubid 3688
GAlantic GA610i
Hush Mini-ITX
Lian Li PC-402A
Jetway B860T
VIA M 10000
VIA MII 12000
VIA Nano-ITX
VIA Pico-ITX
Sigma XCard
Travla C137

Guides & Tips:
5.1 EPIA Audio
Cubid Tips
EPIA CL Firewall
EPIA COM IR
EPIA SCART
Extra USB Ports
IPCop Gateway
Overclocking
PowerLCD

Drivers:
EPIA  EPIA V
EPIA M  EPIA MII
EPIA CL  EPIA PD
EPIA TC

Mini-ITX Online Store

Contact Us

Store: +44 (0) 845 475 8 475

Store enquiries: store@mini-itx.com

Other enquiries: feedback@mini-itx.com

Visit the Store

Click here to enter the online store

Social

Follow us on Twitter!

Join our Mailing List

Copyright: All content on this site is Copyright © 2002-2014 Mini-ITX.com and respective owners, all rights reserved.